Naval Postgraduate SchoolCenter for Homeland Defense and Securityheader background
Login HomeAcademic ProgramsResearch and MaterialsPress and News

Homeland Security Master's Degrees Awarded to 29 at Naval Postgraduate School

Twenty-nine professionals who work in the homeland security field completed the master’s degree program in security studies during graduation ceremonies Dec. 16 at the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

The guest of honor for the ceremony was John Pistole, head of the Transportation Security Administration. Pistole awarded students their diploma’s during the ceremony and spent an hour in class the previous day speaking about TSA security initiatives.

Pistole said education is important to the TSA’s ability to meet its mission.

"With the Naval Postgraduate School for we can equip those who are at the midpoint or going to senior parts of their career with the skills and education that will allow them to become tomorrow’s leaders," Pistole said. "That’s why we appreciate the partnership with NPS."

The graduates comprise professionals from law enforcement, fire safety, homeland security and the military (please see attached list).

"These graduates bring great credit to themselves and their professions. They will join the expanding network of homeland security leaders who are shaping the future of our nation," said CHDS Director Glen Woodbury.

Two of the graduates, both employees of TSA, earned special honors:

  • Kenneth Fletcher, senior advisor to the deputy administrator, Transportation Security Administration, Arlington, Va., was honored with the Thesis Award and the Curtis H. "Butch" Straub Achievement Award. The award is based on overall academic rigor; quality of the literature review; impact of the study on homeland security strategy and future research implications; quality of analysis and conclusions; quality of organization, writing and overall presentation of thesis. The Straub Achievement Award. This award is based on grades, thesis and classroom leadership.
  • Karen Keys-Turner, security director, Transportation Security Administration, Flint, Mich., received the Philip Zimbardo Award. This award honors a student who demonstrates the best understanding of the psychological aspects of terrorism and whose performance in the master’s program best embodies the highest levels of academic achievement and outstanding leadership. The honor is named after renowned Stanford University psychologist Philip Zimbardo, who also teaches at CHDS.

CHDS Graduates

December 2012

  • Anne Marie Albertazzi, Assistant Federal Security Director - Mission Support, Transportation Security Administration - Los Angeles International Airport, Los Angeles, CA
  • Rodney Andreasen, Director, Jackson County Emergency Management, Marianna, FL
  • Paul Atwater, Captain, Seattle Fire Department, Seattle, WA
  • Cynthia Atwood, Lockbox Operations Officer, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services / DHS, Washington, DC
  • Ed Barberini, Director, San Mateo County Sheriff’s Area Office of Emergency Services and Homeland Security, Redwood City, CA
  • George Beech, Administrative Officer, Transportation Security Administration / DHS, Bloomington, MN
  • Ken Chavez, Police Liaison Officer to the Denver Office of Emergency Management & HS (OEM&HS), Denver Police Department, Denver, CO
  • Dave Dixon, Asst. Chief of Response, U.S. Coast Guard / DHS, Milwaukee, WI
  • Deanne Criswell, Federal Coordinating Officer, FEMA, Highlands Ranch, CO
  • Ken Fletcher, Senior Advisor to the Deputy Administrator, Transportation Security Administration, Arlington, VA
  • Regan Fong, Deputy Special Agent in Charge, Transportation Security Administration / DHS, Menlo Park, CA
  • Jorge Gonzalez, Attorney, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Washington, DC
  • Bob Giorgio, Chief, Cherry Hill Fire Department, Cherry Hill, NJ
  • Donna Grannan, Assistant Area Director, Region 8, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Coppell, TX
  • Rich Hall, Training Administrator, Florida Army National Guard, St Augustine, FL
  • Dave Jackson, State Hazard Mitigation Officer / Mitigation Program Manager, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security, Boise, ID
  • Sandy Keefe, Deputy Director, Mitigation Division, Region VI, Federal Emergency Management Agency / DHS, Denton, TX
  • Chris Kelenske, Lt / Assistant Commander, Lansing / State Capitol Posts Michigan State Police, Lansing, MI
  • Karen Keys-Turner, Assistant Federal Security Director, Transportation Security Administration / DHS, Flint, MI
  • Matt Leveque, Deputy Director, Alaska State Troopers, Anchorage, AK
  • Cherie Lombardi, Adjudications Officer, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services / DHS, Washington, DC
  • Mick Mulligan, Director, Operations & Planning, National Protection and Programs Directorate / DHS, Arlington, VA
  • Rob Neale, Deputy Superintendent, National Fire Academy, Federal Emergency Management Agency / DHS, Emmitsburg, MD
  • Jim Schwartz, Chief, Arlington County Fire Department, Arlington, VA
  • Tommy Scollan, Inspector, New York Police Department, Long Island City, NY
  • Walt Smith, Commanding Officer, Homeland Security Unit, Philadelphia Police Department, Philadelphia, PA
  • Fred Stein, Field Counsel, Transportation Security Administration / DHS, Tampa, FL
  • Kelly Wolslayer, Deputy Director, Continuity Division, U.S. Department of the Homeland Security, Fulton, MD
  • Lynn Wright, Branch Chief, Region 1, Federal Emergency Management Agency / DHS, Boston, MA