Naval Postgraduate SchoolCenter for Homeland Defense and Securityheader background
Login HomeAcademic ProgramsResearch and MaterialsPress and News

CHDS Alums on FEMA Advisory Group

Three professionals with ties to the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS) have been named to the Advisory Council(NAC) of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

They will join five other graduates from CHDS programs who are currently serving on the council. The council comprises law enforcement and emergency management professionals from state, local, federal and tribal governments, as well as the private sector, who advise the FEMA Administrator on all aspects of disaster preparedness and response. The new appointments were announced in June.

CHDS graduates who were among the 16 new NAC members announced in June include:

  • Cathy Lanier, Chief, Metropolitan Police Department, Washington, D.C. Lanier graduated from CHDS in 2006 with a master’s degree.
  • Jerome Hatfield, Lieutenant Colonel /Deputy Superintendent of Homeland Security, New Jersey State Police. Hatfield is a graduate of the CHDS Executive Leaders Program.
  • David Miller, former Administrator of Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division. Miller is a graduate of the ELP.

The mission of NAC is to provide recommendations to the FEMA Administrator on the National Preparedness System, National Incident Management System, National Response Framework, and FEMA grants programs.

According to FEMA, NAC was established by the enactment of the Post-Katrina Emergency Response Act of 2006, the National Advisory Council (NAC) was established to ensure effective and ongoing coordination of Federal preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation for natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.

Five other NAC members associated with CHDS had been previously appointed and are currently serving: alumnus and faculty member Ellen Gordon; ELP graduates James Feathersone and Paul Biedrzycki; current ELP participant Mark Cooper; ELP graduate and current master’s degree student Nancy Dragani.

NAC has included other CHDS graduates in the past. Robert Connors, a participant in the Executive Leaders Program and preparedness director at Raytheon, was an original member and served two terms on the body. ELP graduate Charles Ramsey of the Philadelphia Police Department is also a past member of the committee.

Remaining newly appointed NAC Members announced in June:

  • Lee Feldman, City Manager, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Edward Gabriel, Director, Global Crisis Management and Business Continuity, The Walt Disney Company
  • Clifton Lacy, Director, University Center for Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Response
  • Robert Lee, Former Adjutant General, State of Hawaii, Department of Defense
  • Robert Davidson Leipold, Executive Director, National VOAD
  • Michael Rackley, Director, Global Security Services, Target
  • George Schloegel, Mayor, City of Gulfport, Mississippi
  • Kurt Schwartz, Homeland Security Advisor and Emergency Management Director State of Massachusetts
  • Charles Shimanski, Senior Vice President Disaster Services, American Red Cross
  • Mary Troupe, Executive Director, Coalition for Citizens with Disabilities
  • David L. Waldrop, Chief Evangelist / Architect, Public Safety Initiative, Microsoft Corporation
  • Rebecca White, Tribal Council Chairwoman, Ponca Tribe of Nebraska, Omaha
  • Phil Zarlengo, Chairman, AARP Board of Directors