title
Naval Postgraduate SchoolCenter for Homeland Defense and Securityheader background
Login HomeAcademic ProgramsResearch and MaterialsPress and News
image

Application to the Master’s Program




The Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security accepts applications for cohorts in two locations. The curriculum and structure of the programs are identical.

Program begins Location Application deadline Applicants notified
Fall 2015MontereyMay 1, 2015 [closed]Aug 2015
Spring 2016MontereyDec 1, 2015Feb 2016
Summer 2016National Capital RegionDec 1, 2015Feb 2016
Fall 2016MontereyMay 1, 2016Aug 2016

Monterey Cohorts: In-residence course sessions are held at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA. The majority of the Monterey cohort participants are state and local officials with a mixture of DHS and other federal agency leaders.

National Capital Region Cohorts: In-residence course sessions are held at Customs and Border Patrol, (CBP) Global Borders College in Harper's Ferry, WV as part of the DHS Homeland Security Academy. The majority of the National Capital Region cohort participants are DHS and other federal agency leaders with a mixture of state and local officials.

All applications completed by the deadline will be considered for cohorts in both locations. You do not need to designate a location or date during the application process.

Note to DHS employees: The following DHS components have an internal nomination process. If you work for one of these components, please contact your POC (listed below) for specific internal application instructions. Otherwise, please continue the CHDS application (button below).

 

USCG - Civilian Personnel: Darlene Murphy [Darlene.M.Murphy@uscg.mil, 202-475-5520]

USCG - Uniformed Personnel: LCDR Steve Charnon [Steven.J.Charnon@uscg.mil, 202-372-3001] (Except Cyber)

USCG - Uniformed Personnel: Lucinda Cunningham [Lucinda.Cunningham@uscg.mil, 202-475-3503] (Cyber Only)

USCIS: Vas Mantzouranis [Vasilike.I.Mantzouranis@uscis.dhs.gov, 202-233-2569]

S&T: Krystle Allen [Krystle.Allen@hq.dhs.gov, 202-254-6326]

TSA: Adam Silvey [Adam.Silvey@tsa.dhs.gov, 571-227-1186], Patrese Roberts [Patrese.Roberts@tsa.dhs.gov, 571-227-1882]

CBP: Valerie Randall [valerie.randall@cbp.dhs.gov, 304-535-5349]

Office of Policy: Joanna Karwacka Krantz [joanna.karwackakrantz@hq.dhs.gov, 202-282-8993]

ICE: Rebecca Highsmith [Rebecca.Highsmith@ice.dhs.gov, 202-732-1301]

USSS: Kathy Wilson [katherine.wilson@usss.dhs.gov, 240-624-3358]

FEMA: Mary Waller [Mary.Waller@fema.dhs.gov, 202-212-2083]

FLETC: David L. Patrick [David.patrick@fletc.dhs.gov, 912-280-5210]

Office of Chief Procurement: Officer Connie Dutton [Connie.Dutton@hq.dhs.gov, 202-447-5308]

I&A - Primary POC: Nicholas Stark [Nicholas.Stark@hq.dhs.gov, 202-282-8680]

I&A - Alternate POC: Tanya Graham [Tanya.Graham@hq.dhs.gov, 202-447-4591]

OPS: James Bentley [james.bentley@hq.dhs.gov, 202-357-7619]

NPPD: Monique Dula [monique.dula@hq.dhs.gov, 703-235-2013]

NPPD - Alternate POC: Stacy Armstead [stacy.armstead@hq.dhs.gov, 703-235-1923]

NPPD - Alternate POC: Alexander Nickodem [alexander.nickodem@hq.dhs.gov, 703-235-2012]

All other HQ: Brian Johnson [brian.johnson@hq.dhs.gov, 202-357-8428]

 

Note to U.S. ARMY NORTH applicants: There is an internal nomination process. Please contact Dorothy Cannon, 210-221-1285, for specific internal application instructions.


Application buttonLogin first if you already have a CHDS or HSDL website account and password, or have already begun an application.

Application buttonIf you do not have a CHDS or HSDL website account and password, create an account to begin.

Frequently Asked Questions

CHDS Helpline
chdsmaap@nps.edu
Phone: 831-656-3829
Fax: 831-656-2619

Heather Issvoran
Director, Strategic Communications
Contract Support for The Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Cell: 831.402.4672
image
image While browsing through my department’s educational bulletins, I learned about the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security Master’s degree program. I was immediately intrigued by the subject matter, particularly because I was interested in pursuing an advanced degree but wanted to get the most out of my graduate education in a field that was relevant to my profession. I applied and was accepted into one of the nation’s most coveted programs in the homeland security field, and best of all, I was able to attend while being sponsored by my agency. What followed during the course of the next year and a half was one of the most challenging and personally fulfilling experiences of my life. The professors are among the most accomplished and knowledgeable experts in the field. The curriculum is cutting edge. The other students are our nation’s homeland security leaders representing many agencies across the country. All of this made for an overall educational experience that was nothing short of exceptional. I came away from this program with an understanding of today’s homeland security issues that I never dreamed possible, critical thinking and writing skills that I never imagined I could possess, and memories and friendships that will last a lifetime.  
image

Jason Huerta
Deputy Inspector, New York City Police Department
Graduated September 2013

Main Master’s Program Page

image